BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Augustana placed three wrestlers on the All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference list released by the league on Thursday. TJ North and Jayd Docken each earned first-team honors while Aero Amo collected second-team accolades.

First team honors were given to the highest-finishing wrestler at the NCAA Super Region III Championships for each weight class. The next-highest finishing wrestlers at the regional received second-team honors for their weight class. Any wrestler that earned All-American honors at the NCAA Championships will be named to the second team.

At 125 pounds, North wrestled to the NCAA Super Region III title with a 3-1 sudden victory win over Da’Wayne Robertson of Minnesota State and a runner-up finish at the NCAA Championships this past weekend. The Elk Point, S.D. native finished the season with a 26-4 record, including a 20-1 mark against Division II opponents.

North’s 22-match winning streak was snapped in a 3-2 decision loss to St. Cloud State’s Tim Prescott in the 125-pound NCAA Championship title bout. North receives All-NSIC first-team honors for the second time in his career after a 9-1 record against NSIC opponents.

The lone senior for the Vikings, Docken collects All-NSIC honors for the third time and earns a spot on the first team for the first time in his career. At 197 pounds, Derry posted a 13-0 record in NSIC competition and a 29-6 record on the season. The Winner, S.D. native finished third at the NCAA Super Region III Championships with a 3-2 decision over Northern State’s Joe Gomez. Docken finished sixth at the NCAA Championship this past weekend in St. Louis, Mo.

Amo placed sixth at the NCAA Super Region III Championships to earn a spot on the All-NSIC second team, the first of the 184 pounder’s career. Hailing from Rapid City, S.D., Amo defeated Corey Abernathy of Minnesota State-Mankato by a 9-2 decision to earn a spot in the consolation semifinals at the end of day one. The redshirt freshman couldn’t recapture the magic on day two and lost in the sixth-place bout, but still finished as the second-highest wrestler from the NSIC to take home second team all-conference honors.

Tim Prescott of St. Cloud State collects NSIC Wrestler of the Year honors taking first-place over North in the 125-pound title at the NCAA Championships. Larry Bomstad of St. Cloud State takes home NSIC Rookie of the Year and St. Cloud State’s Steve Costanzo was named NSIC Coach of the Year.

NSIC Wrestling Awards

View More College News

Click Here: All Blacks Rugby Jersey

Mittie B Brack News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *